Posted by: MarlaHB | February 20, 2013

Doors of Authentic Happiness are Meant to be Open

When one door closes, another opens. But, we so often look so long upon the closed door – that we do not see the one which has been opened for us.                          ~Alexander Graham Bell

Do you ever wonder why we waste so much time looking backwards, questioning if what we left behind was a huge mistake? The truth is that the positive energy we need to pull us forward cannot be found in the past. What’s done is done. So embrace the present, take a step toward whatever feels energizing to you now, and move on. Choose the door of authentic happiness.

My pesky tug is toward the door I closed on being an employee. As an entrepreneur now, every once in a while I’ll start to doubt and question whether I made the right decision to leave a good job (ok, I’ve left a few over the years!). I wonder if it would just be easier to go back to working for someone else again.

But today I renewed my business license and I felt so proud to hand over that money. I have the extreme pleasure of investing my life energy in the work that I want to do. I choose to work on projects and with people who interest and inspire me.

If I feel excited and nervous (sometimes fear), it’s a great sign. That means I’m about to step into growth. How lucky am I? It happened twice today. Who knows if I’ll get the contracts. That’s not the point. It’s about the juice.

So, yes it would be easier to go and work for a regular paycheque like I sometimes think I should. Then I wonder how many times I would feel like I did today. Because I know myself enough to know that this is the kind of energy I need to fuel me. It’s part of my happiness.

Sometimes, when you are able to be present in the moment, great clarity is possible. Today was one of those days for me. I am grateful.

I’m leaving the door of past employment closed – for now anyways. Instead, I choose to stay working in the realm of possibility. That door is open to us all.

Go ahead, close those old doors and leap full force through the one that is open to your authentic happiness now.

Responses

  1. What a great message and applicable on so many levels! Very well written. Looking forward to reading more of your posts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

