Posted by: MarlaHB | August 7, 2009

Valuing time…

 

How time flies. Since my daughter finished the school year, it feels like summer has been more about being on the go than about lazy days. It’s been filled with travel to visit friends, family coming for holidays, and lots of time at the beach. Dripping hot, record-breaking days added to the memories.

Thankfully, my visits to the naturopath have helped me to feel more balanced. It’s been weeks now since I’ve felt paralysed by exhaustion. Admittedly, I’m still not the most energetic person around. But I’m learning how to take better care of myself which includes knowing when to stop and retreat into rest or a good book – even when it means leaving a group temporarily to do so. I can be social, just in little bits.

Tomorrow I leave for an unexpected nine-day sailing trip to Desolation Sound. The opportunity presented itself just a couple of days ago, and today – after going back and forth so many times wondering “should I leave for that long” – I decided to go for it. I’ve never been there and look forward to the challenge.

Since I last wrote, I have successfully completed my CYA Basic Cruising Standard. I felt so proud when that sticker arrived in the mail. Now it is my intention to work toward intermediate certification.

What next? It hasn’t come to my awareness yet. But I do know that on the water is where I long to be.

 “For whatever we lose (like a you or a me)/ It’s always ourselves we find in the sea.”   E. E. Cummings

In this moment, I am grateful for the abundance that surrounds me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

