Posted by: MarlaHB | June 11, 2009

Sailing into Awareness…

 

“Your only limitations are those you set up in your mind, or permit others to set up for you.” Og Mandino

In a few hours, I will join a group of women – most of whom I’ve never met – to head out for four days of sailing in the Southern Gulf Islands of British Columbia. I’m both excited and nervous.

The adventure excites me. And I always appreciate time to just be “Marla the woman” versus what sometimes seems to be my primary identities as mother, wife, cook and family social planner. Instead, I will spend my time with other women who share an interest in sailing and the personal growth that comes with it. It’s all about balance.

What makes me nervous is the sailing itself – more specifically, whether I have the skills to do it well. I’m in the process of completing the “afloat skills” portion of my Canadian Yachting Association Basic Cruising certification. Once again, the perfectionist in me is starting to surface and promote self-doubt.

I bought my boat a year ago and still do not have the confidence that I would like. That’s what I appreciate about going out with other women. We share in the vulnerability and the celebration of being at the helm. What I’ve found is that it applies both at sea and to life in general.

Being on the ocean is freedom to me. It promotes wellness: body, mind, spirit and emotion. So it is all the more critical that I “feel the fear and do it anyway”. After all, about a year and a half ago – when I went sailing for the first time – I would never have believed that I would have achieved what I have to date. Anything is possible!

Thankfully I have people in my life who both push me beyond my perceived limits and support me while I’m in the process. I am grateful.

Until next time, clear the decks

And, if you’re looking for some inspiration, check out Pacific Lady by Sharon Sites Adams.

Leave a Reply

Categories

