Posted by: MarlaHB | June 4, 2009

Accepting What Is and Asking for Help…

 

“Healing is a coming to terms with things as they are, rather than struggling to force them to be as they once were, or as we would like them to be…” Jon Kabat-Zinn

Today, I added another woman to my health and wellness team. Now, in addition to my medical doctor, chiropractor and massage/energy worker, I have a naturopathic doctor for the first time in my life.

I had been feeling like there was a missing link in my journey to improved well-being. My energy has still been low and weight slow to come off despite healthier eating, more exercise and less stress. In discussing it with my massage therapist, she recommended that I see a naturopath.

After doing so, I feel both humbled and hopeful.

I learned that there is a reason that I’m not feeling well – more than just perception. In fact, I am probably sicker than I wanted to believe. It didn’t make sense to me that after all this time away from work and focussing on self-care, I was still not feeling as strong and alive as I feel I should be.

According to my naturopath, that’s because my adrenals are probably fatigued, my hormones are probably imbalanced, and, based on my symptoms, the possibility of a chronic fatigue diagnosis was raised. Next step is the blood testing.

I was surprised to hear her reaction – but in a way, relieved. Finally I can stop beating myself up for not being “strong enough” to cope with the daily stuff of life in the way that I think I should be able to by now. After being assured that there is light at the end of the tunnel – but it could take a while – I felt hopeful again that I will be able to lead a full life instead of feeling like a walking zombie.

Then I wondered why I waited so long to seek help.

Accepting that there might really be something wrong with me and asking for help has been a challenge. I don’t want to be labelled. I don’t want to be perceived as incapable. I don’t want to be weak. I thought I could work it out on my own.

But there comes a time when you reach the end of your rope and have to do something differently. Today was one of those days. So I’ll work with this new approach and trust that it will bring positive results. I want to (and deserve to) feel vibrant again.

Interestingly, for the past couple of days I’ve been pulled toward using my Wisdom of Avalon oracle cards for support. Today I finally sat with them. I didn’t know what specific question to ask, so as I shuffled the deck I just asked for “whatever it is that I need to know right now”.

It wasn’t immediate, but the Dragon jumped out at me. I had never drawn that card before. But it was completely appropriate that I did today.

The Dragon represents strength and power, both of which exist as an infinite source within us. “Watch for a signal – the Dragon always makes the next step clear, and it gives you the power to take it.”

Today my task is to stay present and acknowledge what is so that I can lovingly move forward on my path and ask for the help that I need along the way. I cannot help myself by being judgemental.

“Living an excellent life is a manifestation of self-love.” Robin Sharma

Responses

  1. Glad I came to your post Marla, reading this particular post made me realize that I’ve been putting off asking for help…(original details removed for privacy)… I’ve been meaning to see a Naturopath for YEARS…So tomorrow I am making an appointment! Thank you so much 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

