Posted by: MarlaHB | May 21, 2009

My Garden of Insight and Truth…

 

“Plants give us oxygen for the lungs and for the soul.” ~Linda Solegato

“You can bury a lot of troubles digging in the dirt.” ~Author Unknown

“Gardens are a form of autobiography.” ~Sydney Eddison, Horticulture magazine, August/September 1993

The garden has been calling me, drawing me in to its presence and its possibility. While I know little about plants and have no real desire to learn the details, working in my garden fills my soul.

My garden is one of my artistic and spiritual expressions. It speaks to who I am and who I want to be. It is my place of creativity, of nurturance and of connecting with the cycle of life.

A work in progress, the garden is a tool for my own healing process.

I love to pull weeds to create space for something else. Perhaps it’s the physical expression of what I’m also doing inside.

I love to envision new possibilities for the space. Often there is no plan, just intuition.

I love to find discounted plants that need some TLC and try to create space for them to reach their full potential. It’s partly about budget and a challenge – but perhaps it’s also a soft spot for the underdog or the “not so beautiful” that lies both among and within us.

Each plant gets planted and then I watch to see if it’s happy in that place. If not, I’ll move it somewhere else. It’s not a control issue. I can’t wish (or force) the plants to flourish in a space that doesn’t suit their true nature. I am learning that it’s the same for me.

In the garden, I’m not looking for perfection. Interestingly, I still expect it of myself.

“To practice an art, to need it and to love it, is the quickest way of learning that all happiness lies in one’s self…” Wallace Stevens

Leave a Reply

Categories

