Posted by: MarlaHB | March 24, 2009

Nature’s Lesson…

“…always live with an open heart; compassionate acceptance; and unconditional, forgiving love for yourself and all of the Universe’s creatures and creations.” Sonia Choquette, Soul Lessons & Soul Purpose

 

One of the things I love about my home is the view of a marsh.

This morning I sat watching the blue herons gracefully glide in. And the swallows are back: a much-anticipated sign of spring. I watched their playful swooping, as if they were literally bursting with joy. This simple act of observing brought me joy.

When I was younger, I would make fun of my mom for taking such pleasure in watching birds. Now, I understand. It’s a spirit connection. It feeds the soul and helps us connect to our higher selves.

I needed it this morning, because I was feeling frustrated and uncomfortable in my own skin. Every once in a while, I feel like I’ve taken one step forward and two steps back on my healing journey. This was one of those times.

I’m working hard at remembering my authentic self. But over the past few days I have allowed myself to get caught up in drama that has done nothing to serve me (or those around me). Instead, it tapped into a part of me where negativity and judgement flowed freely. I didn’t like how that felt.

I was surprised at how easy it was to jump to the worst-case scenario. Or to judge people so harshly for a choice they made. To see things in terms of black and white – good and bad – right and wrong.

Meanwhile, I felt my heart rate increase and an energy rush inside me. It was providing fuel for my ego.

But I know that this is not who I am. And I was able to catch myself – my thoughts and words. I suppose this is the part where I can see progress. I am no longer unconscious.

So nature helped me come back to my self this morning. In reflecting on my behaviour, I realize that it will be one of my challenges as I move forward. I can’t separate myself from the outside world. So, I have to learn how to respond differently. Instead of falling back into old patterns, I need to create new ones.

Instead of getting wrapped up in (or creating) the drama, I need to find a way to acknowledge what’s going on without shutting down or disconnecting to the point where I express myself in a harsh or uncompassionate way. Staying present and acknowledging – instead of judging – is a significant area for my personal growth.

To find my way to the middle ground will be a challenge. I suspect I’ll make a few mistakes along the way. But I realize that living authentically is impossible if I don’t address this spirit-draining pattern that I have grown accustomed to.

The sentiment, “live from a place of love, not fear”, comes to my awareness as I write. It’s a valuable and timely message.

Watching nature outside my window today reminded me that it just is. It’s not good. It’s not bad. It just is what it is. In every situation, we can choose – our perception and our action. It’s pretty simple.

I know that I have greatness within me. We all do. Nature’s lesson this morning, if we choose to keep it in our awareness, will help us live it.

 

“Let the beauty you love be what you do. There are hundreds of ways to kneel and kiss the ground.” Rumi

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

